

## CORE-MD ADVISORY BOARD

**Dr Paul Piscoi (Chair)** European Commission, Unit B6 DG SANTE (Medical Technology) / Chair of

Clinical Investigation and Evaluation Working Group (of EU regulatory

agencies).

**Dr Niall MacAleenan** Director, Medical Devices, Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA),

Ireland / EU delegate to International Medical Device Regulators Forum

(IMDRF).

Prof Wolfgang Ecker Hon Professor, Medical Technology, University of Applied Sciences Upper

Austria / Past-Chairman, Clinical Investigation and Evaluation Working

Group.

**Dr Isabel Scuntaro** Scientific Officer Clinical Trials and Evaluations, Division Medical Devices

Clinical Investigations (MDCI), Swissmedic (Swiss Agency for Therapeutic

Products).

**Dr Fergus Sweeney** Head, Clinical Studies and Manufacturing Task Force, European Medicines

Agency / Chair of ICH Working Party E6 (Good Clinical Practice).

**Dr Ana Hidalgo-Simon** Head of Advanced Therapies (Medicinal Products and Biosimilars), European

Medicines Agency.

**Dr Francesca Day** Operational Lead, Office of Vaccines and Therapies for Infectious Diseases,

European Medicines agency.

Melissa Torres Associate Director for International Affairs, Center for Devices and

Radiological Health (CDRH), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), USA.

**Dr Jeff Shuren** Director, CDRH, FDA (in copy).

**Dr Simon Singer** Principal Medical Adviser, Director, Devices Clinical Section, Therapeutic

Goods Administration (TGA), Australia.

**Prof Rita Redberg** Cardiologist and Professor of Medicine, University of California San Francisco

/ Chief Editor of JAMA Internal Medicine.

**Prof Art Sedrakyan** Director, Institute for Health Technologies and Interventions, and Professor

of Population Health Sciences, Cornell Medical College, New York / Director, MDEpiNet Coordinating Center (Medical Device Epidemiology Network) / Principal Investigator, Novel Approaches to Advance Coordinated Registry

Networks.



**Prof Peter Jüni** Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology, University of Toronto / Director,

Applied Health Research Centre (AHRC), Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute.

**Prof Johan Kärrholm** Professor of Orthopaedics, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Göteborg / Past

Chair of the Swedish Hip Arthroplasty Registry (SHAR).

**Prof Stefaan Callens** Professor of Health Law, Centre for Biomedical Ethics and Law, KU Leuven,

Belgium. [Member of CORE-MD Ethics Committee]

Prof Sven-Ove Hansson Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH),

Stockholm / Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics,

Karolinska Institutet. [Member of CORE-MD Ethics Committee]

Griet Verhenneman Data Protection Officer, University Hospital Leuven (UZ Leuven) / Affiliated

Senior Researcher, Centre for IT & IP Law, KU Leuven. [Member of CORE-MD

Ethics Committee]

Danielle Giroud CEO of MD-Clinicals, Geneva (Clinical research organisation) / Convenor of

Working Group for ISO Standard 14155 (Clinical investigation of medical devices for human subjects -- Good clinical practice) / Founder, World

Medical Device Organization (WMDO).

**Dr Amie Smirthwaite** Senior Vice President, Intelligence and Innovation, RQM+ (consultancy) /

previously Global Head of Clinical Compliance, BSI (notified body).

Annika Eberstein Acting CEO, COCIR (the European Coordination Committee of the

Radiological, Electromedical and Healthcare IT Industry), Brussels.

**Leo Hovestadt** Director Governmental Affairs EU, ELEKTA, Veenendaal, Netherlands / Chair,

COCIR Clinical Investigation & Evaluation Task Force.

**Dr Roger Kessels** Director, Clinical Development, Phillips, Eindhoven, the Netherlands / COCIR

**Dario Pirovano** Senior Regulatory Adviser, MedTech Europe (European trade association)

Oliver Bisazza Director General, Industrial Policies, MedTech Europe (tbc)

Invited (in attendance):

Dr Carlos Eduardo (Cadu) Lima Da Cunha,

Science Officer, European Health and Digital Executive Agency (HaDEA)